such as field contract administration, equipment maintenance, security, emergency supply planning, assets management and printing. The Overseas Region consists of two supply offices, one in London, England and the other in Koblenz, Federal Republic of Germany and one contract administration office in Washington, DC. The Supply Administration is organized into Commercial Supply Service, Science and Engineering Procurement Service and Corporate Management Service.

The Services Administration, acting for the Receiver General, provides payment or cheque-issuing services on behalf of all federal departments, maintains the fiscal accounts of Canada and prepares the public accounts. It offers departments and agencies a broad range of management and advisory services in management consulting, auditing and computer services fields. It also provides administrative services for all departments in connection with pay, pensions and other employee benefit plans, together with financial management reports and statistical information related to its cheque-issuing function. Service functions are carried out through approximately 40 regional and district offices throughout Canada and abroad.

The Minister of Supply and Services reports to Parliament for the Canadian Commercial Corporation, Canadian Arsenals Limited, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation and the Royal Canadian Mint.

**Department of Veterans Affairs.** This Department, established in 1944 (RSC 1970, c.V-1), is concerned exclusively with the welfare of veterans and with the dependants of veterans and of those who died during active service. The Department is empowered to provide treatment services (hospital, medical, dental and prosthetic), welfare services, education assistance, life insurance, and land settlement and home construction assistance. The Veterans' Bureau, which on March 31, 1971 (SC 1970-71, c.31) became the Bureau of Pensions Advocates, assists veterans in the preparation and presentation of pension claims. The same statute authorized the establishment of the Pension Review Board, an independent body that provides a new and improved adjudicating process of appeal for the veteran who is dissatisfied with a previous ruling of the Entitlement Board of the Canadian Pension Commission or a decision of two members of the Commission.

The Department has treatment institutions and facilities in eight major urban centres and three veterans homes across Canada and it maintains administrative offices in the large cities and in London, England. The offices in Canada are shared with the Canadian Pension Commission, the War Veterans Allowance Board and the Bureau of Pensions Advocates.

The Canadian Pension Commission, the War Veterans Allowance Board, the Bureau of Pensions Advocates, the Pension Review Board and the Army Benevolent Fund Board report to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Director of Soldier Settlement and Director of the Veterans' Land Act. The Director of Soldier Settlement (SC 1919, c.71) is also the Director of the Veterans' Land Act (RSC 1970, c.V-4), and in each capacity is legally a corporation sole. For administrative purposes, however, the programs carried on under both Acts constitute integral parts of the services provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

**Dominion Council of Health.** Established under the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1970, c.N-9), the Dominion Council of Health is an advisory body to the Minister of National Health and Welfare on matters relating to the health of Canadians. It assists in the co-ordination of federal-provincial health programs and in liaison with federal and provincial health authorities. The Council meets twice a year and consists of the Deputy Minister of National Health, who acts as chairman, the Deputy Minister of Health for each province and five members, appointed by Order in Council for three-year periods, who represent various segments of the Canadian population.

**Dominion Fire Commissioner.** The Commissioner is responsible for directing fire protection and fire prevention programs throughout all the civil departments of the federal government. His Office compiles civilian fire cause and loss statistics on a national basis; he presents the data in his annual report to the Minister of Public Works. The Office of the Dominion Fire Commissioner is part of the Department of Public Works.

Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board. The Board was appointed in 1947 under the Eastern Rocky Mountain Forest Conservation Act (SC 1947, c.59) which authorized an agreement between the federal government and Alberta relating to the protection and conservation of the forests on that portion of the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains which gives rise to the major tributaries of the Saskatchewan River. Its function is to determine the policy necessary to obtain the greatest possible flow of water in the Saskatchewan River system. The planning of programs of forest use and conservation is a joint duty of the Board and the provincial Forest Service; the administration of the conservation area is a function of the province. In April 1962, a Technical Co-ordinating Committee for Watershed Research was established to undertake study of the related needs defined by the Board. The Committee's programs, undertaken by seven co-operating agencies of the federal and Alberta governments, are co-ordinated by an officer of the federal Department of the Environment.

Funds for capital expenditures during the first seven years of the agreement were provided by the federal government with maintenance expenditures being paid by Alberta. In 1955 the province undertook the responsibility of financing both capital improvements and maintenance work. Currently, one member of the three-man Board is appointed by the federal government and the province has the right to appoint